Sunday, December 30, 2012

Scheduled to Make Their Debut Next Year

They will be available on a semi-commercial basis beginning next year. Do they have any commercial value? Well, let's see how it turns out :) 来年、試験販売の予定。売れるでしょうか?ものは試し(笑)。


Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Across the Pacific


Scott, a talented artist based in Texas,suggested that we swap our assemblages. So I told him to choose whatever he likes from this website. Oddly enough, his choice was Dodong. LOL. 















And these are what I received from Scott today. Very inspiring! I always take a cue from his work. Thanks Scott. You should receive mine in a couple of days!




Monday, December 17, 2012

Lovely Christmas Gift


Sting and Tabatha were so thrilled when they opened a Christmas gift from Kanako.


Wow, look! It’s wasanbon!  
They're too cute to eat. Thanks a lot, Kanako! 

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Dronkie's New Life in Hokkaido


Luckily, Dronkie was adopted by Kanako’s family and now lives in Hokkaido. 




"Wow! My first time to see snow! I should have brought strawberry syrup, which goes well with shaved ice!"  

Taken by Kanako on Dec. 12, 2012

Thursday, December 6, 2012

WE ARE THE WORLD

Cyndi Lauper's performance stands out among others. Don't you think so?



Here's my version of WE ARE THE WORLD:


Thursday, November 8, 2012

Terminal Frost


Pink Floyd's Terminal Frost (from Momentary Lapse of Reason) is my favorite tune. It always inspires me, and this time is no exception. 



It has turned into something weird, but I really enjoyed the process of creating it. 


Friday, November 2, 2012

Yosaku the Lumberjack


Trimmed this straw whisk a bit to sweep the desktop



 And recycled the waste into a raincoat for Yosaku the lumberjack


Monday, October 29, 2012

Happy Halloween!

Bought this tiny Jack-o'-Lantern at a 100 yen store (Japanese dollar store) 













And this is Greedie, which I made especially for this occasion. 



Take a look at how he works :)



Friday, October 26, 2012

Seahorse


As an avid cyclist myself, I've always been fascinated by the shape of a chain. 


And the combination of a chain and an aluminum wire, as it turns out, is something that is worth trying. 





Tuesday, October 23, 2012

RoboCrab


Tiny bells and pen points were just enough to spark my imagination. 


All made of metal, it’s a lot heavier than it looks, which I like very much. 



The belly side 


Sunday, October 21, 2012

Friday, October 19, 2012

Steampunk Bug


As always, the challenge is to make the most of whatever is available.















And this is what I've come up with.





When turned over, it looks more mechanical.












Not that I’m well versed in steampunk, but the word itself is inspiring as I’ve seen many great steampunk artworks in Second Life.



Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Tiny Electric Dinosaur


I can’t remember when I bought this telephone modular jack adapter. Little did I know, however, that it would come in handy in another way. 


It's modeled after Tyrannosaurus Rex


The upside down logo represents the decline of a once prominent global company :'-(



Saturday, October 13, 2012

Dodong


Hi! I’m Dodong. I’m different in that I have a built-in basket on my head.





















Oops, excuse me, I forgot to trim my nose hairs.









See? It comes in handy!







Thursday, October 11, 2012

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Chair

Picked out a belt buckle and two U-shaped steel rods to make a chair














With Sting, Tabatha and Dronkie in the back


A real chair I made quite a while ago






Friday, October 5, 2012

Dronkie


Hi, I’m Dronkie, hot and fresh from the oven!


Thanks to a whim of Shoji, I’ve got expressive eyes!



Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Sting & Tabatha

Meet my sweetheart, Tabatha. She was born just a few hours ago!


Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Prima Donna

Found it quite difficult to render the elegance of a prima donna with wires and other scrap materials.



And the result is not satisfactory at all, though it gave me an inspiration for my next work.


Friday, September 21, 2012

Twin-lens Reflex Camera (Rolleicord Nano)


If you love photography, then twin-lens reflex cameras would be worth giving a try. They have everything the latest digital cameras don’t have. 



Posing in front of Ed Van der Elsken, one of the great old-time photographers I truly admire


Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Electric Bulb Man


Built this one, inspired by Fred Astaire’s tap dancing 




Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Shooting is fun!


Hi!  My name is Sting. I’m Shoji’s second robot. Today, I hit the streets to shoot a bit and bumped into a weird guy.


I've got a video camera made of a pencil sharpener! 

Monday, September 17, 2012

Accordion Man


Thought it would be fun to make an accordion with a heatsink and SD card adapters...


And the result is:


I love musette and the images it conjures up.



Sunday, September 16, 2012

Posing with a Motorcycle


A 2-inch tall Kamen Rider figure posing with a motorcycle, with Ikuo Hirayama’s work as a backdrop


Saturday, September 15, 2012

Thursday, September 13, 2012

On Stage


This is a guitar I made quite a while ago, using scrap wood. Fortunately, the size is just right for Robot 2.



And this is what I came up with:



And this is what he's singing: